What are your keystone habits?

Issue #8

Here’s a look at the start of my day.

I like to get up and work out daily. Regardless of how long, I’m always pushing until I can barely breathe. Something about getting my heart pumping makes me think I’m keeping distance between myself and the grim reaper.

Next, I try to sit down and read 10 pages of a book. Currently I’m re-reading the Beastie Boys Book. Reading to start the day versus scrolling on my phone is a good reminder that actual pages trump web pages any day.

Next, I like to meditate for 10-15 minutes. Some deep breathing while sitting in the backyard and feeling the breeze with Jackson, my 14-year old dog by my side.

Finally, I like to make a nice cup of coffee. If you read my recent Linkedin post, well you know I like coffee. I think about the first sip while working out and that last sip brings a touch of melancholy and begins the countdown to tomorrow’s first sip.

Why am I telling you about the start to my day? Because regardless of your morning routine, keystone habits can really help set the tone for the rest of the day.

What are keystone habits? Think of these as small wins that aim to make the rest of your day easier. They are like a string of singles in a baseball game that add up to runs. It’s a domino effect. It’s a set of small actions that set up a chain of other reactions to propel you through the day.

Your keystone habits can be anything. It could be a morning yoga session, making your bed first thing, taking the dog(s) for a walk, or just taking a few deep breaths to start the morning. Maybe it's reading a few pages of a great book, a positive interaction with your loved one, or that tasty breakfast that you have waiting in the fridge.

Your habits do not need to be impressive but what’s great is that they set up specific habit loops. These routines and practices that we put in place should be the default start of your day. Whether positive or negative, they can have a ripple effect on everything you do in life.

Remember, we as human beings like structure so the habits you do without thinking can have a great impact. Make those habits positive and consistent and use them to propel you to greatness today.

Let me know if you like this post here. Much appreciated.

I’m one of the founders of Rotary Digital. I’m an entrepreneur and advertising veteran for 30+ years counting. I’m married with three beautiful kids and one day hope to make art full time and continue to eat at Whole Foods.